Skip to content

Story Expo 2015

September 14, 2015

Well, it’s been quite some time since I’ve tried blogging, so quick recap of the last couple years.  Since my last post, I have-

  • Left my position at Saddleback
  • Took up a position at Chapman
  • Left Chapman (and the company I worked for) entirely
  • Started working freelance
  • Started doing content work for web group
  • Web group overseas work has dried up
  • Looking for freelance work elsewhere
  • Applied for career jobs
  • Have had applications ignored
  • Applied to fellowships
  • Have not been accepted into fellowships

Have things gone as I would have hoped?  Not ideally, but life’s a journey and I play the long game.

A month ago, a collaborator of mine from my content writing position told me about Story Expo, an annual event I had not heard of but immediately became interested in.  This same collaborate recommended a screenwriting seminar I enjoyed immensely, so I decided to check it out.

Attending the event with my partner-in-crime Alex Willging, the weekend did much to revitalize my writing drive and focus, which has been suffering as of late from a series of discouragements, both career-related and otherwise.  While many of the available panels were very informative, including a character study session from CSU Northridge professor Eric Edson and a segment on writing dramatic TV with award-winning television writer Pam Douglas, it was a pair of two-panel sessions that really got my creative mind racing.

After a Friday class with veteran script consultant Linda Seger, I attended a set of classes taught by script analyst (and author of The Coffee Break Screenwriter) Pilar Alessandra.  I had attended a pilot-writing seminar taught by Pilar back in the spring, and if you live in the Los Angeles area (Studio City in particular) then I highly recommended looking up her classes.  Both classes covered not only beneficial ways of writing a pilot or feature, but how to tidy up a dull-looking script, something that many “mechanical” screenplays could hugely benefit from.

The next day, I attended two panels taught by long-time script guru Jen Grisanti, both of which addressed the topic of constructing a television pilot as well as pitching it.  Given that my writing focus is currently attempting to break into the TV industry, both these classes were a necessity for me, and I was so impressed with the first class that I ended up changing plans to come back for the second.

The event itself boasted a very diverse range of talent in attendance, with writers of all different ages, races, genders, and nationalities in attendance (one panel had about 60% of attendees hailing from outside the US), all bonded together by a common desire for storytelling.  Given the supposed reclusive nature of many writers (myself in particular), I was very pleased to see that everyone at the event was so open to each other, happy to share their thoughts, projects and ideas.  It makes for a very positive experience to offset the oftentimes discouraging path of the career-hopeful writer.

Story Expo made for an excellent weekend and I’m already looking forward to the next one.  I hope to see you there in 2016!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

