Skip to content

Continue? 10… 9… 8…

January 1, 2012

Happy New Year!  Right then, down to brass tacks.

Seeing as how this blog has only had two posts and no updates since July, it’s safe to say that I fell back into the old trap of, well, being me.  In the time since my last post, I managed to get an awesome job working at the campus bookstore of a nearby community college, which turned from a temp position into a part-time gig that I can continue working for as long as I’m in the area, which is where I’ll be for the immediate future.  Other than that, I’ve been spending my time doing freelance editing/proofreading gigs, playing old classics I’d never touched on past-gen consoles, and otherwise putting off doing any actual creative writing.

About a week ago, I saw a classmate from my screenwriting courses at LMU make a New Year’s resolution to do writing everyday, whether it be a blog post, short story, scene, or whatever, so long as he was writing everyday.  It’s the kind of promise I’ve made many times but eventually stop following through with, and they say the definition of insanity is attempting the same thing over and expecting a different result.

But then, writing isn’t exactly an exercise in rationality.

So while I’m not going to make any proclamations or vows (you can’t build a reputation off of what you’re going to do), consider this me stepping up to the plate once more.  And if this doesn’t pan out,  you’ll see me popping up in half a year’s time to try again.

That I CAN promise.

From → Miscellaneous

One Comment
  1. I’m in the same boat. Part of my resolution is to hone my discipline (and story backlog) by writing a new short story every week. With any luck, I might have enough for variety and get good enough to start posting them online (fingers crossed).

    Glad to see some life back in the Naughty Bits!

Leave a Reply

