Skip to content

Let’s get to it, then.

July 1, 2011

OK, here’s the deal.  I’m nearing my mid-twenties, I’ve been out of college for about two years now, I’ve moved back home, no one anywhere will hire me (six years later and I’m still competing with high school kids for work); suffice to say, I’ve got a little free time.  But the biggest problem has to be that, despite my wanting to be a writer, screenwriter, whatever, there’s one little problem: I never write anything.  Chalk it up to laziness, procrastination, fear of rejection, I don’t know what, but despite the multitude of ways I can try writing (writing exercise, screenplay, play writing, writing a web series, etc), I never take the time to just plant my rear and type away, and it’s becoming a bit of a problem.

But problems can be fixed, and the sooner the better, right?

So I’ve started this blog.  I’m supposed to have a “focus,” but that’s not why I’m doing this.  If I want to write a blog strictly on books I read, or shows I watch, or clouds I saw outside, I’ll go do that.  But here, I’ll just write about the one thing every writer dreams of writing: anything I want.

Stuff on TV?  An old video game I’ve started playing again?  Great cartoons (yes, that includes anime; I don’t care where it was drawn, cartoons are cartoons) I’ve picked up on?  Visits with friends?  Found a job (God willing)?  Whatever it is, I’ll blog it.

Just as long as I’m writing.

From → Miscellaneous

One Comment
  1. Yeah. I know what that’s like. Having trouble writing and finding fulltime work are also things I’m dealing with. And with a BA, its like, “You’re overqualified for this job.” Shit! The best that I can say writing wise is to just start with a little nugget and develop from that. Even if its just a piece of flash fiction, its better then nothing.

Leave a Reply

